News Archive

Professor Vincent Rotello’s Biosensors for Bacteria Cited in Chemical and Engineering News

biosensors for bacteriaProfessor Vincent Rotello’s CHM sponsored research involving biosensors for bacteria was cited in the June 9, 2011 issue of Chemical and Engineering News.

Alejandro Briseno to Receive an Office of Naval Research 2011 Young Investigator Award

Alejandro On March 30, 2011 the Navy announced that Alejandro Briseno will receive an ONR Young Investigator award for "compelling research with the potential to deliver game-changing naval science and technology".

Sankaran "Thai" Thayumanavan honored as 2011 AAAS Fellow

Thayumanavan" Chemist Sankaran "Thai" Thayumanavan has been elected by his peers to be a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in recognition of his contributions to supramolecular polymer chemistry, in particular the development of new self-assembling amphiphilic systems used in biological sensing.

Al Crosby is a 2011 Sparks-Thomas Award Winner

Al Crosby This award, sponsored by ExxonMobil Chemical, is to recognize and encourage outstanding scientific contributions and innovations in the field of elastomers by younger scientists, technologists and engineers.

Maria Santore Receives ACS Fellowship

Maria Santore Maria has been selected as a member of the 2010 class of Fellows of The American Chemical Society.

Richard Vachet Elected to American Mass Spectrometry Society Board

Richard Vachet In a national vote by more than 7,500 members, Richard Vachet, Chemistry, was elected to a two-year term on the board of directors of the American Society for Mass Spectrometry (ASMS). The organization represents academic, industrial and government laboratories and is the world’s largest society for mass spectrometry and allied topics.

UMass Honors CHM Participants

Todd Emrick receives Milestone Award
At the recent UMass Honors program on Founder’s Day, April 29, 2010, several CHM participants received awards or were honored for their achievements in the past year.

Mark Tuominen testifies on Capitol Hill

Mark Tuominen testifies on Capitol Hill
Leading nanotechnology researcher Mark Tuominen this week provided expert advice to Congress on where and how federal spending can better bolster nanomanufacturing.

Breakthrough: Cancer Detection with Nanoparticle Sensors

Vince RotelloProfessor Vincent Rotello's research is in the news with an article on a cancer identification method using nanoparticle sensors that can distinguish between metastatic and non-metastatic cells.

Professor Mihri Ozkan Receives National Honor

Mihri OzkanProfessor Mihri Ozkan of the University of California Riverside, a research collaborator in the Center for Hierarchical Manufacturing, received the Young Investigator Medal of the Society of Engineering Science on June 26, 2009 in ceremonies at Virginia Tech University. This honor is bestowed upon a young researcher in his/her ascendancy whose work has already had an impact in Engineering Science.

Professor James Watkins Receives 2009-2010 Samuel F. Conti Faculty Fellowship Award

Jim WatkinsProfessor Jim Watkins, Co-Director of the CHM, has been awarded the Conti Fellowship for his outstanding record of research and scholarship. He was recognized at the UMass Annual Awards Dinner on May 12, 2009.

Professor Vincent Rotello Named Associate Editor of the Journal of Materials Chemistry

Vince RotelloProfessor Vincent Rotello of the UMass Chemistry department has recently been named Associate Editor for the highly regarded international Journal of Materials Chemistry starting January 1, 2009.